Online Course – Days 15 & 16

4-5 July 2014

Unit 3 Journal Writing 1.

The sun is trying valiantly to shine through the light gray clouds borne by the winds of the incoming typhoon. The rain and the sun alternates in showing their magic.

The chickens, ducks, and pigeons are roaming around scrounging for food whenever the sun peeks through. They run for cover when the rain falls.

The tree branches rustle when a strong wind blows. The leaves from the numerous trees surrounding the house scatter themselves all over the grounds.

Unit 3 Journal Writing 2.

The sun valiantly tries to shine through the light gray clouds borne by the winds of the incoming typhoon. The rain and the sun alternate to show off their might.

The chickens, ducks, and pigeons roam and fly around and scrounge for food whenever the sun peeks through. They run for cover when the rain falls.

The tree branches rustle when a strong wind blows. The leaves from the numerous trees surrounding the house scatter themselves all over the grounds.

A lady sits under a tree in the garden. Her eyes lifts from the pages of the book she is reading and flit at the scattered leaves. She smiles and says, “What a huge pile you will create for this twilight’s bonfire.”

==============

That proved to be a quite difficult activity for me. It is very easy for me to write a number of sentences to describe a scene I am observing. What is not easy is identifying the subjects and the verbs and their different types. Especially so in that I tend to write long and compound sentences. What is more difficult is revising my sentences to show the action words and avoid the verbs ‘to be.’

I feel like I am transported back to that classroom at the end of the longest wing of the grade school building on the third floor. The subject was Language and I was in grade 3. I was working on my activity sheets wherein I was encircling the complete subject and underlining the complete verb. I was also identifying sentence patterns using these: S-V, S-LV-C, S-TV-DO, S-TV-IO-DO-OC, among others.

Looking back, I think that was the precise point in my life when I started disliking the subject and its lessons. Every time my teacher checks my table of progress reports, she always remarks that I am careless in answering the activity sheets. She then gives me on-the-spot activities proving that I can do better if only I will give my activity sheets on those topics the attention I give to the other topics.

I am a fast reader with an almost perfect understanding of the texts read. I can write easily with minimal grammatical mistakes. But when it comes to chopping down sentences based on its parts, I suck. That is essentially what all my grade school Reading and Language teachers said.

And from that, I totally dismissed remembering any knowledge on the parts of speech. I can read, understand, write, and speak the language on a level that can be considered very good and am satisfied with that. I rationalized further that I won’t be teaching the course so why bother.

Now at 41 years of age, why am I bothering?

I am an advocate of the Kapampangan language, in particular, and in general, of all indigenous languages. I am a believer in the preservation and propagation of all languages. When a language goes extinct, an entire culture ceases to exist.

The Kapampangan language has several distinctive characteristics that are not present in any other language but they are slowly being eased out in favor of the structure of the Tagalog-based Filipino and English. It is very easy to simply just memorize those characteristics and think up a few examples of my own to illustrate the concept. But in my book, that is akin to a parrot-like activity. If I couldn’t fully understand what I am talking about, then I do not have the right to allow myself to speak even a single word about it.

That is why I am back to the basics.

So, trudge on along, Joey.

Leave a Reply

